About Us

HTML Template

Emalahleni Municipality is situated in Mpumalanga Province, and it represents one of six local municipalities in the Nkangala District Municipality. It forms part of the western regions of Mpumalanga Province and borders onto Gauteng Province. The southern parts of the Emalahleni Municipality form part of the precinct referred to as the Energy Mecca of South Africa, due to its rich deposits of coal reserves and power stations such as Kendal, Matla, Duvha and Ga-Nala. The southward road and rail network connect the Emalahleni area to the Richards Bay and Maputo harbours, offering export opportunities for the coal reserves. It comprises of eMalahleni City as the main urban centre in the municipality, with the other activity nodes/towns in the municipal area represented by:

• Ogies and Phola;
• Ga-Nala and Thubelihle;
• Rietspruit;
• Van Dyksdrift; and
• Wilge..


"Striving together to be an excellent centre for service delivery”


“Providing affordable, accessible and sustainable quality service, enhancing community participation and creating a climate”


In pursuance of our Vision and Mission, we adopted the following values:
• Efficiency
• Effectiveness
• Transparency
• Community involvement
• Growth